Radisson, in recognition of his elevation to the presidency of the National Association of Retail Druggists. It is said that he is the youngest man in pharmacy ever to hold the office of national president.

Over 400 retailers attended the dinner. Among the speakers were Julius H. Riemenschneider, past-president of the N. A. R. D., of Chicago; H. C. Christensen, past president of the A. PH. A. and secretary of the N. A. B. P., also of Chicago; Dean Frederick J. Wulling of the University of Minnesota; Miss Marie A. Piesinger, former member of the Minnesota Board; Frank Moudry, a college classmate of Mr. Dargavel; and Jos. Vadheim, president of the Minnesota State Association and John Heerema, president of the Iowa Pharmaceutical Association.

A chest of silver was presented to President Dargavel by his Minnesota friends and he responded with a most excellent and fitting speech of thanks, mentioning the wonderful coöperation he had received and acknowledging his debt to them. Letters of congratulation had been received from all parts of the country, many of them from N. A. B. P. friends.—H. C. C.

Congratulations to Rowland Jones, the youthful secretary of the South Dakota Board of Pharmacy, who has the distinction of being elected *First Vice-President* of the AMERICAN PHARMACEUTICAL ASSOCIATION—undoubtedly the youngest A. PH. A. vice-president on record.

John Culley, a former president of the N. A. B. P. and for many years a member of the Utah Board of Pharmacy, has been made secretary of the Bay District pharmaceutical associations in San Francisco to succeed W. Bruce Philip who has established an office in Washington, D. C., as attorney for the N. A. R. D. and who is also the president-elect of the AMERICAN PHARMACEUTICAL ASSOCIATION.

The Bay District associations are to be complimented on their wise choice in selecting John Culley as secretary. He has had many years of experience in association work and is well known in pharmacy circles throughout the country. His new office is at 503 Sheldon Bldg., San Francisco, Calif.

An interesting sidelight is the fact that John Culley is one of the signers of the N. A. B. P. incorporation papers and originated the district idea while he was president.

OBITUARIES.

ADDISON DIMMITT-KENTUCKY.

Kentucky has lost one of her leading pharmacists in the death of Addison Dimmitt, who passed away on Nov. 13, 1931 after an illness of three weeks. He was president of the Newman Drug Co. of Louisville, a partner in the Newman Pharmacal Co., treasurer of the Goodwin Laboratories, and also a director of the Morris Plan Industrial Bank at the time of his death.

Mr. Dimmitt was one of the pioneers in the work of the N. A. B. P., having been an active member while serving on the Kentucky Board of Pharmacy from 1911 to 1915 and from 1917 to 1921. He is survived by a wife and son, to whom our deepest sympathy is expressed in their great loss.

T. V. CAMPBELL-KANSAS.

Thomas V. Campbell, treasurer of the Kansas Board of Pharmacy, died at his home in Topeka, on November 23, 1931 of heart disease.

Mr. Campbell was appointed to the Kansas Board by Governor Clyde Reed in 1930 and had won the admiration and respect of his board colleagues during his short term of board service. He was an outstanding example of an ethical druggist and had a sign in his store announcing "We sell patent medicines but we do not recommend them," which brought him considerable national publicity, although that was not his purpose.

GROVER C. BOND-ILLINOIS.

Grover C. Bond of Mount Vernon, Ill., a member of the Illinois Board of Pharmacy, died on November 21, 1931—very suddenly.

Jan. 1932

Although appointed only in 1929, he immediately took an interest in national affairs and had attended a District No. 3 meeting in Detroit, also the national convention at Miami. He was of a happy, fun-loving disposition, as those who met him will remember, yet very earnest and serious in the fulfilment of his board responsibilities and duties. The Illinois Board has lost a very valuable member. The N. A. B. P. extends sincere condolences to Mrs. Bond in her bereavement.

STATE BOARD NEWS.

Kansas.—Joseph D. Paradowsky of Kansas City was appointed a member of the Kansas Board of Pharmacy by the Governor on Saturday, December 19, 1931 to fill the vacancy caused by the death of T. V. Campbell of Topeka. Mr. Paradowsky was also elected president of the Retail Druggists Association of Greater Kansas City on Nov. 20, 1931. He is a graduate of the Kansas City College of Pharmacy and has been a very successful pharmacist for many years on the Kansas side, also being quite active in the Association of Greater Kansas City in recent years.

Out of a class of thirty-seven who took the examination for registered pharmacist in Lawrence, Kansas, on November 18th-19th, eighteen were successful—passing percentage 48+. (There are still non-graduates taking examination under the exemption.)

Kentucky.—A welcome is extended to Albert E. Ely of Glasgow and Linwood A. Brown of Lexington, both honorary N. A. B. P. members, who have recently been reappointed to the Kentucky Board of Pharmacy, succeeding George E. Porter and R. Lee Cassell, retired. At the re-organization meeting, George D. Duncan of Franklin was elected *President*, George Wilhelmi of Newport, *Treasurer*, and J. W. Gayle of Frankfort, *Secretary*.

The report of the October examination shows four out of a class of eleven candidates as successful—passing percentage 36+. The January meeting was held at the Brown Hotel, Louisville, on the 12th and will be reported later.

Maine.—Charles S. Pierce, president of the Maine Board of Pharmacy, has been reappointed by Gov. Gardiner for a term of three years dating from December 1st. Mr. Pierce has been very active in the N. A. B. P. on committee work, and the reappointment is very gratifying as it is a recognition of his splendid service.

Michigan.—Clare F. Allan, N. A. B. P. vice-president and Chairman of District No. 3, was elected *President* of the Michigan Board at the annual meeting held in Lansing on December 30th. Howard Hurd of Flint was named *Vice-President*. The retiring member of the Board is Orville Hoxie of Grand Rapids and a new member will be appointed by the Governor some time in January.

Clare F. Allan is chairman of the program committee of the Wyandotte Kiwanis Club for the second all-city banquet at which prominent state officials are to be guests on January 19th. The Secretary of State, Frank D. Fitzgerald, and State Treasurer, Howard C. Lawrence, will be among the guests of honor.

New Mexico.—W. H. Duckworth of Clovis has been appointed secretary and treasurer of the New Mexico Board of Pharmacy to succeed C. C. Haussamen, resigned, but who retains his membership on the board. A hearty welcome is extended to Mr. Duckworth who has been an honorary N. A. B. P. member since 1920 and now again becomes active by this appointment.

Ohio.—A class of 71 applicants was examined at the October meeting of the Board, 52 being successful in getting licenses. Passing percentage 72 + (practically all graduates in examination).

The highest grade was made by Charles S. Ehlers of Cincinnati with a general average of 98%, next Paul F. Schindler of Coldwater with 93% and third Chester A. Gregory of Cincinnati with 90.1%.

Porto Rico.—The central office was honored by a personal call from Mr. Ramon Lopez Irizarry of the Porto Rico Board of Pharmacy early this month. Mr. Irizarry is the youngest and newest member of the Board, having been appointed over a year ago. However, he is very active, having prepared a very commendable piece of pharmacy legislation which was introduced at last year's session of the legislature but unfortunately failed. He reports that another attempt will be made this year in a somewhat different manner.